School History & School Background

On 15th April, 1869, Rev. Sr. Mary Anucita Marandi, Sr. Mary Suzanne Cardiff, Sr. Euphstie Joseph and Sr. Mary Sacred Heart Masi arrived in Sri Lanka consequent to a request made in 1867 by the then Bishop of Colombo, His Lordship Hilarion Sillani to Mother Mary of St. Euphrasia Pelletier (now St. Mary Euphrasia), to set up a school of the Good Shepherd order. The Rev. Sisters had been given a grand welcome which was followed by a Thanksgiving service.

On 1st May 1869, the school began functioning with just 8 students and the first Superior of the Convent, Sr. Mary of the Seven Dolours Joly taking over the task of leading the School as Principal.

One of the priorities of the Good Shepherd Sisters had been to pursue the construction of a Chapel. Consequently the site was blessed on 21st June 1869 and the construction was left in the able and artistic hands of Fr. Stanislaus Tabarrani, who was then regarded as a world icon in par with popular characters such as Michael Angelo. During the 1870s' the school had around 100 day scholars. The construction of a two-storey building, to house an orphanage began on 21st June 1869, guided by Bishop Sillani.

Good Shepherd Convent was established 140 years ago on Colombo’s highest point, like a light set on a towering hill.

It was the Benedictine Italian Archbishop of Colombo, Rt. Rev. Sillani, who initiated the first Catholic Convent, yet it drew upon the efforts of a French Saint Mother Euphrasia to plant the seed which has now become a mighty tree through whose portals thousands of girls have passed through.

Past Principals

1869 – 1872 – Mother Mary of Seven Dolores Joly

1872 – 1876 – Mother Mary of John the Evangelist Dodsworth.

1876 – 1882 –Mother Mary of Ignatius Lalor

1882 – 1893 –Mother Mary of Rosalie Cleary

1894 – 1895 –Mother Mary of Armedi Kennedy

1895 – 1901 – Mother Mary of Veronica Curram

1901 – 1911 – Mother Mary of Winifrid Crotty

1911 – 1921 – Mother Mary of Prosper Walsh

1921 – 1924 – Mother Mary of Francis Borgia Collection

1924 – 1928– Mother Mary of Prosper Walsh

1928 – 1932– Mother Immaculate conception Houghes On 10th March 1932, She became the Provincial Superior of Ceylon.

1933 – 1936– Mother Mary of John the Evangelist Mc Carthy.

1936 – 1940– Mother Mary of Gerard Connorton.

1941 – 1946– Mother Mary of Isidore Conroy

1947 – 1948– Mother Mary of Paul of the Cross Williams

1948 – 1955– Mother Mary of St. Canice Kinsella

1956 – 1961– Sr. Mary of Isidore Conroy

1962 – 1965– Sr. Mary of  St. Canice Kinsella

1966 – 1972– Sr. Mary of St.Sabine Crooz

1973 – 1984– Sr. Mary Agnes de Sampayo

1985 – 1990– Sr. Mary Rohini Mendis

1991 – 1994– Sr. Mary Lynnette Perera

2000 – 2002– Sr. Mary Rohini Mendis

2002 – 2010– Sr. Gertrude Vithanage

2011 – 2019 – Sr. Renuka Silva