School Developement Society

History of School Development Society

The ‘School Development Society’ came into being as an association that brings together the parents and the academic staff of the school for the betterment of the development of the school and students.

The SDS, which was formally known as the ‘Parent-Teacher Association’, was renamed to broaden its scope of activities responsibility.

About School Development Society

The School Development Society brings together Parents, Teachers and the School Management under one umbrella to work towards the development of the school and its activities. It supports the School Management in maintaining and upgrading the infrastructure facilities required to augment the standard of education, sports and social activities while fostering a bond of friendship and understanding among all stake-holders.

Patron - The Superior of Good Shepherd Convent, Kotahena, shall be the Patron (ex-officio)

President - The Principal of Good Shepherd Convent, Kotahena, shall be the President (ex-officio)


The Executive Committee

Patron - Rev. Sr. Madonna Wimaladasa
President - Rev. Sr. Marie Dilani Jayamanne
Secretary - Mr. Darshana Jayasinghe
Asst. Secretary - Mrs. Uddyani Munasinghe
Treasurer - Mrs. Upamali Dias

General Committee      

Rev. Sr. Sothy Emmanuel
Mrs. Shiromi Motha
Mr. Denuwaka Perera
Mrs. Kanagatharini Gnanavel
Mrs. Srikanthi Jayamanne
Mrs. Subhashini Arulnayagam
Mr. Bandula Samaranayake
Mr. Anthony Eswaran
Mr. Roshan Perera
Mr. Upul Kumara
Mr. Ranga Jayakody
Mr. Anton Amirthakumara
Mr. Prasanna Silva
Mr. Mahesh Jayawardena
Mrs. Ramila Perera
Mrs. Perly Asempta
Mr. Gread Motha
Mrs. Anika Perera

Contact Details

President : Sr. Marie Dilani Jayamanne
Tel : 011-243 42 10
Email :

Secretary : Mr. Darshana Jayasinghe
Mob : 0772 480 037
Email :


★ To foster, strengthen and encourage a bond of friendship and understanding among the Teachers, Parents and the School Management
★ To afford an opportunity for the parent and teacher to participate in the activities of the school
★ To develop the School for the achievement of the educational objectives of the Catholic Management
★ To maintain and upgrade the infrastructure facilities required for the educational social and sport activities of the school.

General Committee

A General Committee of 15 members, which shall comprise 5 full time Teachers (1/3rd of the committee), is elected at the annual general meeting.

The President of the PPA too shall be a member of the General Committee.

Term of Office

The term of the office Bearers and the General Committee members shall be a minimum of 1 year whilst the maximum period would be 3 consecutive years in any one position, which is referred to as the term of eligibility.

During the term of office, the Executive Committee focuses on five specific areas that contribute to the overall development of the school. The said areas are:

The maintenance of the buildings and equipment
The welfare of the students
The welfare of the staff
The Security and Environment
Raising of funds to support the activities of the society.